How do you build a minecraft portal?

To make a nether portal, build the frame using four obsidian for a base and five obsidian for each side. To activate the portal use flint and steel or a fire charge on a bottom obsidian block. The portal should glow and turn purple. Jump or walk through the purple and you are done.