How do you know when dragon fruit is ripe?

You thump it like a watermelon, but be careful of the spikes. When ripe the outer skin should be bright and even-colored. If the fruit has a lot of dark blotches on the skin, similar to bruises on an apple, then it may be overripe. A few spots, however, are normal.

---

As per www.wikihow.com. As dragon fruit matures and ripens, the outer skin color changes to red or yellow, depending on the variety. When ripe the outer skin should be bright and even-colored