How do you know when dragon fruit is ripe?

You thump it like a watermelon, but be careful of the spikes. When ripe the outer skin should be bright and even-colored. If the fruit has a lot of dark blotches on the skin, similar to bruises on an apple, then it may be overripe. A few spots, however, are normal.