When was the transcontinental railroad completed?

On May 10, 1869, the transcontinental railroad was completed as the presidents of the Union Pacific and Central Pacific railroads met in Promontory, Utah to drive a ceremonial last spike into a rail line that connected their railroads.

---

The transcontinental railroad, was ceremoniously celebrated with the driving of the golden spike on May 10th, 1869, at Promontory point, Utah. Later rerouted to the south, a 15 mile stretch of the original railroad, including the section of the last spike, still exists as a national monument.