What is a trap chest in minecraft?

A Trapped Chest is a Redstone-related block that will emit a weak Redstone signal when a player opens it. As more players peer into the chest, the Redstone signal will gradually increase. Trapped chests can primarily be used to create traps, but can also create a few nifty Redstone creations.