Is there anything hotter than the sun?

Scientists have produced superheated gas exceeding temperatures of 2 billion degrees Kelvin, or 3.6 billion degrees Fahrenheit. This is hotter than the interior of our Sun, which is about 15 million degrees Kelvin, and also hotter than any previous temperature ever achieved on Earth, they say.

---

Yes, the sun is only 5,778 degrees kelvin. The hottest thing that we know of is at the Large Hadron Collider where they smash gold particles together. When this happens the temperature reaches 7.2 trillion degrees Fahrenheit or 4 trillion degrees kelvin for a split second.

---

The sun is a yellow dwarf. Blue white stars are far hotter.