Are woodchucks real animals?

The woodchuck (Marmota monax), belongs to the marmot family, and goes by many names, including groundhog and whistle pig due to the sound they make through their teeth to warn of danger. The woodchuck is found mostly in the eastern United States and across much of southern Canada.