How do you get buried in arlington cemetery?

To be buried in Arlington someone must be: a service member who died on active duty & their immediate family; service retirees & their immediate family; recipients of the purple heart or silver star & above; or any honorably discharged POW who died after November 30, 1993.

---

Due to limited space, only honorably discharged members in certain categories are eligible for burial in Arlington National Cemetery, this includes: Members who died on active duty and their immediate family. Retirees and their immediate family. Recipients of the Purple Heart, or Silver Star & above