What's in mustard?

Mustard is a condiment made from the seeds of a mustard plant. The whole, ground, cracked, or bruised mustard seeds are mixed with water, vinegar, lemon juice, wine, or other liquids, salt, and other flavorings and spices, to create a paste or sauce ranging in color from bright yellow to dark brown.