Why do baseball players spit so much?

Back when many players chewed tobacco, they couldn't swallow the tobacco juice, so they spit it out. Tobacco has largely gone away, but the spitting remains. The theory is that players spit out of habit and don't really notice it, and also as a reaction to anxiety or nervousness in the game.