How does a turtle shell grow?

Like a tree actually, year lines, like a tree you can get a very good idea how old the turtle is by counting the rings under the shell. When the turtle's sheds its old shell, which looks like a lens of dirty glass. it just flakes off. Doesn't come off like a snakes' sock of old skin