Who invented the peanut?

The peanut exists in nature and was not invented by anyone. The scientist and inventor George Washington Carver helped popularize the peanut and developed over 300 uses for it.

---

A peanut comes from a peanut plant, therefore it was not invented. George Washington Carver was an agricultural scientist and inventor who developed hundreds of products using peanuts, though he did not invent peanut butter.