Who was the first astronaut that landed on the moon?

On July 21st 1969, American astronaut Neil Armstrong became the first person to walk on the Moon. He stepped out of the Apollo 11 lunar module and onto the Moon's surface, in an area called the 'Sea of Tranquility. '

---

In terms of landing on the moon, Buzz Aldrin piloted the Apollo 11 lunar lander that also carried Neil Armstrong.