When did the pokemon show come out?

It was first broadcast in Japan on April 1, 1997 and was first broadcast in the United States on September 8, 1998. In the episode, Ash Ketchum gets his Pokémon journey off to a rough start when he receives his first Pokémon, a reluctant Pikachu.