How many types of stars are there?

Scientists classify stars by temperature and the elements they absorb, which are called their spectra. Stars are divided into seven main types: O, B, A, F, G, K and M. The O stars are the bright, hot, blue stars and the M stars are the dimmer, cooler, red stars.