Where did pizza originate?

The word pizza was first documented in 997 A.D. in Gaeta & successively in different parts of Central and Southern Italy. It was mainly eaten in Italy and by emigrants from there. After World War II, Allied troops stationed in Italy came to enjoy pizza along with other Italian foods.