What is the definition of spoonerism?

It is a verbal error in which a speaker accidentally transposes the initial sounds or letters of two or more words, often to humorous effect. For example, the sentence “you have hissed the mystery lectures,” accidentally spoken instead of the intended sentence “you have missed the history lectures.”