How long has kobe nineteen been around?

How long has kobe nineteen been around? Was Kobe Bryant an All-Star in 1998? Kobe shines in his first All-Star appearance in 1998 Lakers guard Kobe Bryant became the youngest All-Star starter when he suited up for the West at age 19. He scored 18 points and pulled down six rebounds in the loss.