How do sonic turn blue?

In one such experiment involving the doctor's new Power Sneakers, Sonic ran so fast in Kintobor's Kinetic Gyratosphere that he broke the sound barrier, destroying the machine and leaving him with a new look: fusing his quills together and turning them blue.