Why do we need ants?

Ants play an important role in the environment. Ants turn and aerate the soil, allowing water and oxygen to reach plant roots.

---

Ants are tiny composters, creating fertilizer out of dead leaves and insects. Ants carry these items into their underground tunnels to use for food and as they decay underground the leaves and insect carcasses release nutrients into the surrounding soil.