What should the p. h. of a fish tank be?

Most freshwater aquarium tropical fish do best at a pH of 6.8 to 7.6, although certain fish may require higher or lower levels. The pH of an aquarium tends to drop over time due to the breakdown of organic material, and the best way to prevent this is through regular partial water changes.