What year did war world war one start?

World War I began on July 28, 1914 following the assassination of Archduke Franz Ferdinand, the heir to the Austro-Hungarian Throne. The US entered the war on April 6, 1917 after Germany resumed its policy of unrestricted submarine warfare resulting in the sinking of American merchant ships.