Which beatle was shot?

On Dec. 8 1980, John Lennon from the English rock band "The Beatles" was shot multiple times in the back within the archway of his home in New York City. Lennon was rushed to Roosevelt Hospital for surgery, but later died due to traumatic injuries sustained.