Is up a prepositional phrase?

Up is an adverb, a preposition and an adjective. A prepositional phrase is a series of words consisting of a preposition and its object, so "up" by itself isn't a phrase. If you said "Up a tree, the cat sat meowing," then "up a tree" would be a prepositional phrase.