Who invented mozzarella cheese?

Mozzarella originated from Southern Italy. The term 'mozzarella' first appeared in a cookbook in the late 1500s by Bartolomeo Scappi, chef to the papal court. Though, cheese-making with buffalo milk was first recorded in the 12th century.