How do storms happen?

The air cools as it rises and water vapor condenses and forms clouds. When condensation occurs, heat (latent energy) is released and helps the thunderstorm grow. At some point, condensation high in the cloud (now in the form of water droplets and ice) falls to the ground as rain.