Where did the term blow come from?

The verb to blow comes from the Old English blāwan, of Germanic origin; related to the German blähen ‘to blow up, swell’. The first records of blow to mean “a sudden strike” come from around 1425. It comes from the late Middle English blaw; related to the Gothic word bliggwan, meaning “to beat.”