Tell me the history of memes?

I would need a textbook to teach you the whole history of memes! The word was coined by Richard Dawkins in 1976. Emoticons are the first resemblances of memes. Dawkins said internet memes were "hijacking of an original idea." They grew in the 1990s as short clips shared in Usenet forums or email.