Do tomatoes need a lot of water?

Seedlings like to stay lightly damp, grown plants over 6 inches require plenty of sun and water usually twice a week depending on local weather and temperatures. The soil should be well drained, moist, not dry.Don’t overwater but they can handle heavy rain once mature. It’s best to water in morning.