How many times a day does the average person burp?

Burping as many as 3 - 6 times after a meal is normal. But some illnesses can make you burp a lot more than that: Gastroesophageal reflux disease (GERD), sometimes called acid reflux, happens when acid in your stomach flows back into your esophagus and causes heartburn.