What is the difference between el nino and la nina?

The term El Niño refers to a periodic warming in sea surface temperatures across the central and east-central Equatorial Pacific. La Niña impacts tend to be opposite those of El Niño impacts. In the tropics, ocean temperature variations in La Niña also tend to be opposite those of El Niño.