What is d. a. t. e. m.?

DATEM, or diacetyl tartaric acid ester of mono- and diglycerides, is a food-safe emulsifier primarily used in baking to strengthen the protein network in dough. It is added to crusty breads to impart a springy, chewy texture. It's also used in other products like non-dairy creamer and ice cream.