Why do sharks not sleep?

Sharks do actually sleep, and sometimes with their eyes wide open. It is the first real evidence that sharks actually get some "shut-eye." Researchers have finally put a long-standing shark mystery to bed by showing — for the first time — that the oceanic predators do sleep.