What does the moon have to do with the tides?

According to NASA, The Moon and Earth exert a gravitational pull on each other. On Earth, the Moon’s gravitational pull causes the oceans to bulge out on both the side closest to the Moon, and the side farthest from the Moon. These bulges create high tides. The low points are where low tides occur