Who is known as the father of modern camping?

Thomas Hiram Holding (1844 – 1930[1] ) was a British tailor and often considered the founder of modern camping. He wrote the first edition of The Camper's Handbook in 1908 and founded the Association of Cycle Campers, now the Camping and Caravanning Club.