What does it mean when you crave salt?

Originally a mechanism for survival, salt craving has become known as an indication of an addictive desire, a personal preference or a symptom of disease. Some diseases include dehydration; electrolyte imbalance; stress; disease of the adrenal glands, thyroid or kidney; pregnancy or PMS