What's arrow root starch?

Arrowroot is an easily digested starch extracted from the roots of the arrowroot plant, Maranta arundinacea. It is gluten free and can be used as a direct substitute for cornstarch for folks with corn allergies. It has no flavor of its own, so can be used to thicken any sauce, soup, stew, or pudding