Why is it fire truck red?

According to popular theory: A red fire truck would be sure to stand out amidst the sea of black vehicles on the road. Standing out from the crowd is obviously a good quality for a fire truck — or any emergency vehicle to have. However, you will also see many other colors of fire trucks.