Why does lightning strike?

When enough electrical potential has built up in the cloud the electrons are attracted from the ground up to the cloud causing the lightening strike.

---

During a storm, colliding particles inside storm clouds negatively charge the lower reaches of the clouds. Objects on the ground become positively charged creating an imbalance that nature seeks to remedy by passing current between the two charges.