What is an upper gi test?

Upper gastrointestinal tract radiography, also called an upper GI, is an x-ray examination of the esophagus, stomach and first part of the small intestine . Images are produced using a special form of x-ray called fluoroscopy and an orally ingested contrast material such as barium.