Is the mississippi river saltwater?

No, the Mississippi river is a fresh-water river that empties into the salt-water Gulf of Mexico.

---

The Mississippi River is freshwater. It can be a little salty near it's delta, which is where it meets the sea. This saltiness can extend for several miles up river during high tide, when tidal forces cause sea water to enter the river itself.