Why do cats have such rough tongues?

The reason for the rough, sandpaper feeling is that cats' tongues are covered with papillae, which look like tiny, backward-facing barbs. ... When doing so, the papillae can help detangle any knots in the fur, grab debris, and trap any loose strands of hair that come loose during grooming.