Who is ali in austin and ally?

Set in Miami, Austin & Ally is about the relationship between two very different musicians: extroverted and fun-loving singer and instrumentalist Austin Moon, and introverted and awkward songwriter Ally Dawson, who is also a singer, but has a bad case of stage fright, played by Laura Marie Marano.