How many alvin and the chipmunk movies are there?

The total is eight. There are 4 animated & 4 live action movies that star Alvin & the Chipmunks, spanning from 1987 to 2015. There are also 3 made for tv specials that are shorter than movie length, spanning from 1981 to 1991.