How many heads did cerberus have?

According to most Greek Myth, Cerberus is a three headed dog with a serpent's tail, guarding the gates of Hades. However, ancient scholar Hesiod, gives Cerberus 50 heads, and Pindar, 100. Some later scholars reconciled this by stating he had 3 dog heads, and any remaining were those of snakes