How do you get stains out of clothing?

Depends on the stain. Sometimes applying a little laundry detergent or non-chlorine bleach directly to the stain will work. Sometimes a commerical stain remover is needed. Sometimes vinegar. The trick is to treat, wait and then wash. Also, avoid using the dryer until you're sure the stain is gone.