What is a d. mean?

The abbreviation A.D., is a short form of "Anno Domini", which is Latin for "the year of our lord". It is used to identify a year based on the Gregorian Calendar, which most of the world uses. Year 1 A.D. means the year Jesus Christ was born. 2020 A.D. is 2,020 years since Christ's birth.