Why are some cucumbers bitter?

Cucumbers contain a compound called cucurbitacin, that is present in all cucumbers and can make them bitter. Various factors can elevate the levels of this compound, including uneven watering practices, and erratic swings in weather and temperature, causing the cucumbers to turn bitter.