How long do potatoes grow?

Potatoes planted in the springtime can be harvested as soon as the tops die down, or even a bit sooner. They prefer to stay underground until the plants above have completely died off--but CAN be dug up and eaten before that if you like them smaller. That can take anywhere from 3 to 5 months.