Why do we have animals on earth?

Earth is the only known body to have animals at all. As a human, you are an animal. The complex process to explain how the conditions for life on Earth may never be uncovered, but, if Animals did not exist on Earth, then you, as a human and also as an animal, would not exist to ask this question.