How deadly is a gorilla?

Gorillas are often docile and will accept humans into their troop. However if a gorilla is threatened or challenged for dominance, it will use every bit if its highly intelligent 600 pound frame with sharp canines and opposable thumbs to beat you to an unrecognizable pulp.